The Big O

Some of  you may or may not have heard, but for those who haven’t, we are getting Oracle databases at work. And the crowd goes wild!  I’m really excited and actually looking forward to it. It’s a great opportunity to learn something new which is one thing I love about my job. I’m really happy we’re getting training too. Yay! It will be nice to take some classes for once since I haven’t really had any formal SQL Server training. It’s all been on the job training with the exception of one Reporting Services architecture class. I understand there will be consultants to help us out along the way too. I’m really hoping to learn a lot from them. I’ve had some less than stellar experiences in the past with consultants at other jobs, but I’m going to strive to be positive that it will work out just fine in this case. Call me naive but I really do hope it works out. Crossing fingers and toes and everything else I can think of!

Uhh... sorry, but I'm a little busy right now...

It’s my understanding that we’ll have both Windows and Linux boxes. The Oracle version we’re getting is Oracle 11g R2. I was very excited to hear we’re getting Linux. In one of my past jobs, I did a little roundabout UNIX administration and really enjoyed it.  Feel the power! Muhahahaha… Now I need to dust off the cobwebs. So far Linux is extremely similar to the UNIX I used way back when. Hopefully the learning curve won’t be all that bad. It may help that my husband is currently taking IT classes and this semester it so happens he’s taking a UNIX class. Note to self: need to swipe…err, borrow his UNIX book… Luckily, I have a little experience with Oracle 9i from several years ago. However, it was just writing stored procedures in PL/SQL for reports. Now we need to learn to be Oracle Administrators first and then development comes later on. What is really truly going to help us out is that our manager is Oracle certified (even though it was a while ago) and our newest DBA has experience with Oracle. At this point, I think we need all the help we can get. 🙂

Our first big Oracle project just kicked off this last week. The time line is very aggressive and tight with production scheduled for mid September. Plus we have current ongoing projects that will keep moving forward at the same time in addition to any production issues that arise. We’re also taking over the administration of several SQL Servers from other departments that are moving onto our network including one SQL 2008 cluster. That will keep us pretty busy too.  Whew!

Having said all that, it’s time for the bad news. I honestly don’t know how much time I’ll be able to devote to my blog in the near future. I want you all to know I haven’t abandoned writing on this blog, but I will try to post when I can. Beware there may be some Oracle lurking in there somewhere with SQL clustering and what not. You have been warned! 🙂

My main purpose of writing this post is that I’m really curious what your experiences with Oracle are.  Please feel free to comment!  I’m looking foward to reading your comments and opinions – the good, the bad and hopefully not too ugly. 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Big O

    1. Wow! Great post! Thanks for replying! Now tell us how you really feel! 😉

      Lots of good info there. Thanks for the heads up! I will definitely try to keep all that in mind during the next several months. It should be interesting to see how it goes. I’m thankful that it seems there are quite a few SQL Server DBAs out there that have worked with Oracle. Meaning, there is hope! I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

