I Got 99 Problems… Oh! You Mean SQL Server Problems!

Unfortunately, I missed “Meme Monday” yesterday. It’s a day late but hopefully no one minds. 🙂

This one was a bit difficult for me to write since I try to be more of a “the glass is half full” type of person. I try to be anyway. So here are some SQL Server problems I’ve experienced. I’ve included some from a past job as well. Note: the following are not in any particular order.

  1. GUIDs as part of database name
  2. Cursors
  3. Access
  4. Crystal Reports 8.5
  5. Trying to remember how to code efficiently in SQL Server 2000. Oh that’s right! Can’t do CTEs! Drat!
  6. Database servers deciding to reboot themselves for no apparent reason. Turned out to be hardware issue.
  7. Trying to find/make time to keep up with newer versions of SQL Server.
  8. Finding out one department was allowed to have their database objects in the master database on a cluster. Found out the hard way when I started removing the objects.
  9. “We need you to install SQL Server on these servers.”  “Okay. Did someone buy the licenses for SQL Server?” “No. We need licenses?” “Um, yeah.”

I can’t help it. Call me silly, but I have a need to end this post on a positive note. So here are some good things I’m fortunate to have. 🙂

I Got 99 Treasures: I’m fortunate…

  1. to be part of a great team… we have each other’s back and there’s rarely a dull moment around here.
  2. to be a part of the awesome SQL Server community… there is a great deal of fantastic resources to tap into and terrific people who are willing to help.
  3. we have standards!
  4. to have developers who are willing to listen, learn, and collaborate.
  5. to have challenges. I hate being bored so I’m glad I have challenging work from time to time to help keep me busy and out of trouble.
  6. to have opportunities to learn new technologies and keep up with advances in SQL Server.
  7. we have source control and we all use it!
  8. to have an employer who believes in training.
  9. my team also likes dark chocolate. 😉
2 thoughts on “I Got 99 Problems… Oh! You Mean SQL Server Problems!

Leave a Reply

