Did You Get Your Assist at SQL Sat 66?

The SQL Sandbox

It’s really over? Whew! It’s hard for me to believe it’s actually over. Months of planning with a fantastic team all boiled down to one incredible day.  When I agreed to help organize SQL Saturday #66, little did I know just how much work goes into organizing an event like this. Trust me. I have a whole new respect for event organizers and especially for my fellow organizers. Yes, we’re still talking to each other and haven’t blocked each other on Twitter.  🙂  

I may have lost my voice by the end of the day (I didn’t yell! Honest!), and my feet may have felt like they were going to fall off (good thing that didn’t happen in the sandbox), but I must say it was a blast!  From hockey jersey hysteria to heavy metal at o’dark thirty, there never seemed to be a dull moment – especially considering our wonderful cast of characters. Umm…yeah… I’ll just leave that one alone. 😉 

My Little Black Book

If it weren’t for my little black book of notes (yes, I actually carried around a little black book with me so beware!), I may have lost my mind… probably in the sandbox along with my feet. Speaking of the sandbox, I was hoping to get a picture of Kat in it so I could say “Hey! Look! A Kat in the sandbox!” But as luck would have it, that didn’t happen. Bummer! Thankfully no one got a picture of me in the sandbox playing with the toys, err… I mean placing eggs… at least that I know of… hmm… Plus I finally got to play go carts with one of our fantastic volunteers, Brandy! It was a lot of fun, and I’m grateful there weren’t pictures of me doing that either (timing is everything!)  I was really tickled that my DBA buddy came and so did our adopted developer! Yay! Granted, our adopted developer didn’t arrive until it was pretty much over, but she did stay for pizza and beer! Unfortunately, I couldn’t stick around. Bummer!

 

A HUGE thank you to our terrific sponsors:

Data Realized (Web | Twitter)

RedGate (Web| Twitter)

Quest Software (Web| Twitter)

Confio (Web| Twitter)

Telerik (Web| Twitter)

SQL Server Magazine (Web| Twitter)

Webucator (Web| Twitter)

SQL Share (Web| Twitter)

Wrox (Web| Twitter)

Gerasus Software (Web| Twitter)

O’Reilly (Web| Twitter)

A HUGE thanks to our fantastic speakers! I wanted to listen in on some sessions but ended up running around making sure everything was hunky dory. It’s all good, though. The speakers were all awesome to meet. Seriously! They were! Not one prima donna in the bunch! Really!

Another HUGE thanks to our photographer, Chris Gosnell. I seriously can’t wait to see the pictures she took!

To our volunteers, THANK YOU! We couldn’t have done it without you! And, of course, THANK YOU to everyone who showed up. It was amazing to meet so many people, many of whom I’ve talked with on Twitter.  Granted, some thought Kat was SQL Princess, but hey! What can you do? LoL At first I wasn’t sure how to take that but have decided to take it as a compliment since Kat rocks! 😀

And, of course, thank you to my wonderful team for letting me be a part of such a great event!

Ahem… I do want to take this time to apologize to any of our speakers whom my 5 year old daughter / matchmaker-wannabe tried to fix up with others at the speaker dinner. I honestly don’t know where she gets that from. No, really! 😉

Now What?

Now that it’s over (SQL Saturday 66, that is), I suppose this means I have some free time now. This also probably means I need to get back to blogging. Guess we’ll see won’t we! 😉

5 thoughts on “Did You Get Your Assist at SQL Sat 66?

  1. SQL Saturday was a total blast! Everyone had a great time, and I heard many, many compliments, before and after my presentation and throughout the day. Excellent Twitter coverage (all day long, with pictures (!), thanks to the wonderful work of photographer Chris Gosnell) and already some blog entries … tireless effort from a very energetic, imaginative group of volunteers!

    Thanks SQL Princess, Kat, Chris, Andrew, and the rest of your wonderful team for a spectacular event… You have really raised the bar for those who will follow!

    Bill

    1. Hi Bill!

      You are most definitely welcome and thank you for the kind words. 🙂 It was wonderful having you as a speaker, and I’m glad you were able to come. We’d love to see you again. If you’re ever in the area again, please feel free to look us up! 🙂

      Rebecca

    1. Hi Meredith!

      Thanks! 🙂 Your daughter was absolutely adorable! I think the two of them actually had fun bowling “together”. Mine probably wouldn’t admit it, though. 🙂

      I am a bit embarrassed to admit that you two weren’t the only ones she tried to fix up. LoL

      It was great to finally meet you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

