Fun… Exciting and New…

Fun, exciting and new…
Come aboard. We’re expecting you.
Fun, SQL crazies on aboard.
Let drinks flow, it floats a SQL crew…

 

I can’t believe it’s already here!!! We are SO ready for SQL Cruise!!! Even my feet are ready! 🙂

     Honestly, I don’t even remember the last time I wore flip flops! 🙂 My feet don’t quite seem to know how to handle this latest development, but I’m sure they’ll adjust… because I will make them like it or else! Ha!

Man! It’s been one heck of a week! Between trying to get everything ready for the cruise and getting things wrapped up at work (at least one or two things out of 30), the week has just flown by! 

Note to self: next time you tell your DBA buddy she has a nice package, it would probably be a good idea to mention it’s her SSIS package you’re talking about; otherwise, you’ll get weird looks… and not just from her…

Other than finishing… err…actually, starting laundry and packing everything *what do you mean “pack light”? sounds like a challenge! LOL*, I do believe we’re pretty much ready, or as ready as we’ll ever be. I’m not much of a traveller so I get really anxious and nervous when travelling. My nerves may be shot by the time we get to Miami, but I’m sure I’ll calm down once we’re on the boat… and after a boat drink… or two… maybe three… On top of it all, we’ll be leaving our 5 year old daughter behind with our brother-in-law and sister-in-law (a.k.a. Stephen’s sister and her hubby) and their two kids. I’m sure she’ll have  a great time while we’re away… *mom, dad…you were gone?* …  but this will be the first time we’ve both gone somewhere for more than a day without her… *relaxing? what’s that? must try this “relaxing” thing I keep hearing so much about*  I’ve told her in advance that we’re going on a boat for awhile and that we’ll be back… eventually… with presents for her. She seems fine with it so far… *presents? for me? oh cool!*

I have a few ideas of what I’ll be taking with me. Here’s a sneak preview of a few things you may recognize. These are two of my favorite things… (SQL Sentry rocks!!)

Super Cool Cruisin' Shirts
Super Cool Cruisin' Shirts

Wait… what’s that in the lower right corner you ask? Does that look suspiciously like “super cool” white knee high socks????  No… I really won’t take them with us. I know I’ve joked about wearing them on the cruise but I seriously need the extra room for the important things… like more swag and a NETBOOK *hint, hint*!!! 😉 Also… I believe I have convinced my hubby to wear this super cool t-shirt from Quest Software on the cruise so we can be “Princess and the Toad”… 🙂

Quest Software: I'm a Toad DBA
Quest Software: I'm a Toad DBA

Note: This t-shirt wasn’t part of the cruise swag. It was given to me by a non-DBA at work. 🙂

Yes, I went camera happy today! 😛 And, yes, we are bringing our camera and video camera along so you have all been warned!!!! LOL  😉 Beware of crazy people bearing cameras and video cameras!!!  I will do my best to tweet and blog while we’re there. I don’t know if I’ll be able to from the ship (it’s not cheap!) but I’ll try… even if it means swiping… err, I mean begging… no, ummm… borrowing from someone…

By the way, my swag collection is in serious need of MORE super cool additions… I SO need things from MSSQLTips.com and Red Gate Software! 🙂 By the way, ALL of the sponsors have my deepest and sincerest THANKS for making this cruise possible for ALL of us! It is a super cool awesome idea, and I still can’t believe how lucky we are to be going on such a great adventure! *someone pinch me! well, no not really* I’m still floored and awed by SQL Sentry’s generosity. Without them, I wouldn’t have been able to go on my very first cruise with my hubby celebrating 10 years of not having killed or maimed each other… granted, the cruise isn’t over yet so there’s still time… just kidding! lol Seriously, they so totally rock!!!  🙂 *cough… I’m sure I can fit at least one of them in our large suitcase…cough* 😉

I honestly can’t wait to meet everyone and learn all I can from not only the presenters (Brent and Tim) but also my fellow cruisers! 🙂 See you all soon!!!

2 thoughts on “Fun… Exciting and New…

Leave a Reply

