A Public SQL Announcement (PSA)

Since it’s my lunch time and having inhaled my fourth cup of coffee (I’m more of a 1 to 2 cups of coffee per day gal), I thought I’d burn off some brain cells and write a quick little post…

Note to self: When people are used to making coffee with 2 scoops, making coffee using 4 scoops may be a tad too much for them to handle… especially when your DBA buddy makes the comment “Great! Now I’m starting to act like you!” Then something about bouncing off the walls and being all witty and stuff… Thankfully, she was smiling and laughing when she said it. So, of course, my response was “You say that like it’s a bad thing!” 😉  Hey, I warned her ahead of time that I may have made the coffee just a tad on the strong side! But did she listen? No! Hee Hee… She also mentioned something about putting a disclaimer note up when I make the coffee. No worries, though! It’s all in good fun. 🙂 30 help desk tickets? No problem! At this rate, I should have them all finished by 3:00 today! Woo hoo!! The way my luck goes, the caffeine will probably wear off before then… Seriously, I didn’t intend to make it that much stronger… next time I’ll just use 3 scoops… oh, sorry I got a bit distracted for a minute there… anyway…

On to the Public SQL Announcement! This week’s user group meeting is going to be freakin’ awesome! Kevin Cox, of Microsoft and SQL Customer Advisory Team (SQL CAT), will be speaking about the Biggest Mission Critical Projects on SQL Server!!! If you’re in the Colorado Springs area, this is one meeting you just can’t afford to miss!!! I’ve even managed to convince my other half to attend! 🙂  

Guess what???  In less than 2 weeks, we will be flyin’ outta here to Miami for the SQL Cruise!!!   Time is a flyin’!!! Speaking of the cruise, the sponsors of this flippin’ awesome event are just plain SQL-tastic!!! I gotta give MAJOR SQL Thanks to SQL Sentry, Edgewood Solutions, Red Gate, and Quest Software!!! You guys SO totally rock!!!!! There aren’t enough words for me to express just how much their sponsoring the cruise is truly and seriously appreciated!!!! 

Okie dokie, kiddos! Until next time, may all your queries be fast and all your data clean!!! 🙂

This has been a Public SQL Announcement brought to you by SQLPrincess – the ultra-caffeinated and goofy database professional who may not be allowed to make coffee anymore… at least not without supervision… 😉

9 thoughts on “A Public SQL Announcement (PSA)

  1. I was so tired Friday that I headed across the street to Caribou Coffee and ordered a Depth Charge… large coffee with two shots of espresso (I think they call it a Red Eye at Starbucks). That’s a tad strong and then some!

    1. Wow! That sounds pretty strong! 🙂 I believe I’ve also heard it referred to as a “Hammerhead” but that was many years ago in San Diego. My DBA buddy also joked that I must have Cuban coffee on the brain already! 🙂 By the way, I have learned the hard way that any coffee drink called “The Bug Eye” is probably not a good idea… 6 shots of espresso! Now that was WAY too much for me. Never again! 🙂

  2. Noel, please don’t encourage SQL Princess with ‘Red Eye’ or ‘Depth Charge’ coffee ideas…..she’ll try it out on us.

  3. I’ll never forget a guy I used to work with. We had desks facing one another. One morning I looked up and he had his palms flat on the desk in front of him and was semi-staring into space. I asked, “Hey, you all right?” He replied that yeah, he was going to be fine. “Just a little buzzed. I ordered the ‘Atomic Wake-up’ from the coffee shop [across the street]. I’m not going to order it again. I feel my heart beating.” I don’t know what was in the “Atomic Wake-up,” and after that I had no intension of ever finding out.

    1. I don’t blame you. That’s pretty much how I felt after drinking the “bug eye”. I swore to never drink that much espresso ever again, and I haven’t. Seriously, it made me sick and it was not fun. It’s probably also not good for one’s health to drink that much at one time either.

  4. You got your other half to go?? Now, what do I have to do to get you to blog about how to do that?! Send you coffee, maybe? More?

    Agree on the freakin’ awesome UG! Are you guys lucky or what? 🙂 We’re having Tim Chapman here in Raleigh tomorrow…he’ll be teaching us how to be dynamically squilishious…looking forward to that too.

    1. Hmmm… coffee, chocolate, or both could convince me to blog about it… 😉 Seriously, convincing him to go wasn’t all that difficult. He’s looking to start a career in IT (the networking side) and wants to network with more people in IT. I mentioned that going to a user group meeting (even if it’s SQL) could be a good way to meet other IT people and get your name out there. You never know who knows someone that’s looking to hire someone with your skill set.

      We are SOOOO lucky to have Kevin Cox speaking at our UG. 🙂 Your UG sounds like it’ll be SQL-tastic as well! Lucky you! 🙂

  5. So I’m worried that on the SQLCruise I won’t be able to get coffee that is strong enough. I’m seriously considering bringing a french press. For reference, my morning coffee is a quad tall soy latte.

    So at least I know now that there are some serious coffee drinkers with me…

Leave a Reply

