Wonderland or Dreamland?

It’s amazing what can happen in two days. Anyone remember my prior posts regarding a web portal pass-through that the vendor insisted had to use SQL Server 2005 Enterprise and that our user point of contact had a big decision to make? Well… they made a decision. That decision was to go with the alternative to SQL Server. Anyone want to hazard a guess as to what that entails? I’ll give you a hint. Red pill or blue pill? Here’s another hint. “I’d ask you to sit down, but, you’re not going to anyway. And don’t worry about the vase.” “What vase?” *crash* “That vase.” For those like me who aren’t so good with movie quotes (or I’m just confusing you as usual), I’m referring to Oracle. Note: movie quote taken from The Matrix when Neo talks with Oracle. So, yes, we get to administer an Oracle database. On the bright side, we get to expand our horizons and skill set. And my blog just may get a whole lot more interesting now… Oracle versus SQL Server.. Smackdown 2010 or Wedded Database Bliss? Like the rest of us, you shall just have to wait and see…  

Some of you may have wondered what direction my blog will now go since our boss is back. Will I continue to write about all the fun happenings at work? I wasn’t quite sure myself until something strange occurred Wednesday night. That night I attended the Colorado Springs SQL User Group meeting (Web|Twitter|Facebook). Little did I know that one meeting would change a few things…

First, Chris Shaw (Blog|Twitter|Web) gave a great presentation on how to upgrade and migrate a VLDB in under 15 minutes. Shockingly, not only was he able to upgrade and migrate an existing critical 300 GB standalone database system to new hardware (a SAN AND a cluster), a new OS, and a newer version of SQL Server, he did it in under 15 minutes. Yes, you read that right. AND he didn’t lose a single transaction! I was most impressed! I also found the topic so interesting that I forgot all about the hand gestures… err, signals I had worked on. Mostly to signal if he was talking too much or if he strayed off topic… mostly… So if you live in or near Colorado Springs and weren’t able to attend, not only did you miss a great presentation, but you missed Chris doing a little dance for us at the end! That was worth it right there! Yet another reason to attend the meetings. You never know what you’ll miss! lol For those who did make it, thank you for attending! 

After the presentation, I’m still not quite sure how it happened as its a bit of a blur, but apparently I am now the “VP of Marketing” for the Colorado Springs SQL User Group! *yay me! … wait, what have I gotten myself into?* Nah, it’s all good! 🙂 

Speaking of presentations, we have another AWESOME speaker coming to the Springs next month. This is going to be HUGE! If you missed June’s meeting for whatever reason, you simply can NOT afford to miss this next one! Here’s a little teaser… Have you ever wondered how those astronomically large SQL projects fare? We’re talking some of the largest projects known to the SQL world. How the heck do they plan for disaster recovery and high availability? To find out, you have got to attend our next user group meeting! This is a fantastic opportunity folks and you will NOT regret attending!

Guess what? Last night the SQLCruise swag finally arrived! *woo hoo! I finally have a SQL book of my own!* While I was looking over the awesome cool shirt, the autographed SQL 2008 book, and debating on possibilities with stickers, it hit me. It’s not a dream. It’s real. It’s actually real. I am actually going on a cruise for the first time in my life with a whole bunch of really cool fun people including my wonderful hubby of 10 years. To some it may not seem like much, but I feel extremely fortunate. To me, this is one of those rare awesome opportunities to finally get away while meeting up with really cool people and learning more cool things. There aren’t words good enough to express the deep gratitude I am feeling. So these words will have to do for now. SQL Sentry is the epitome of awesome-ness. *you guys rock!* Of course, many huge thanks to Brent Ozar (Web|Twitter) and SQL Agent Man (Web|Twitter) for hosting this cruise, sending awesome swag, and to all the cruisers for helping me to feel very welcome.

I want them and everyone to know that their generosity has not gone unnoticed. I truly hope they understand how appreciated they are. I will do everything in my little power to not let this fantastic dream and opportunity go to waste. I will strive to shove everything I can into my little brain and use it well. Granted, I may need to reboot my brain a few times for it to take but I’ll find a way to make it happen. Thank you from the bottom of my little SQL heart. Many thanks also to the SQL community out there. You all make me feel welcome and not-so-stupid when I feel I have a stupid question. 🙂

So, what’s next for the SQLPrincess? Stay tuned and you’ll find out. I plan to post to my blog at least once a week on Fridays. I just know everyone’s just dying to know what’s going on in Colorado! lol Not really but, hey, I’ll try my best to abuse, err.. amuse you all! 🙂 And do NOT forget to stay tuned to find out who is coming to our little neck of the woods in July! I promise to let the cat out of the large SQL project bag soon! 😉

4 thoughts on “Wonderland or Dreamland?

Leave a Reply

